Government – Federal

Federal • State • Local 

The federal government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the federal courts, including the Supreme Court, respectively.

  • Executive Branch – The power of the Executive Branch is vested in the President of the United States, who also acts as head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces.
  • Legislative Branch – Established by Article 1 of the Constitution, the Legislative Branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate which together form the United States Congress.
  • Judicial Branch – Where the Executive and Legislative branches are elected by the people, members of the Judicial Branch are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Article III of the Constitution of the United States guarantees that every person accused of wrongdoing has the right to a fair trial before a competent judge and a jury of one’s peers.
  • Constitution – The Constitution is the Supreme Law of the land. Learn more about this document, its history, and read the full text.
  • Federal Agencies & Commissions – There are hundreds of federal agencies and commissions charged with handling such responsibilities as managing America’s space program, protecting its forests, and gathering intelligence. Research and a full list can be found at
  • White House Briefing Room –  Read the latest news from the White House, watch live and archived events.