Mayor: David Krutzfeldt , 641.676.5006
City Manager: Michael Schrock
City Clerk: Amy Miller
City Hall: 641.673.9431
Office Hours:  7:30-4

Population: 11,463*
Total Area: 6.88 sq. mi.
Housing Units: 5,421*

Form of Government: Mayor/Council
Council Meetings: First and Third Mondays of the month at 6 p.m.

Mailing Address: 220 South Market Street, Oskaloosa IA 52577
Official Web Site

State of the City: This publication shows tax dollars division, project updates, goals, and council contact information.

Located in the heart of Mahaska County in Southeastern Iowa, Oskaloosa is a progressive, diversified city whose economy is made up largely from retail, industry and agriculture. It is the county seat. Oskaloosa can trace its roots back to the time that the state of Iowa was born. In the mid 1800’s a group of Quakers settled in an area southeast of Des Moines, midway between the Skunk and Des Moines rivers. In 1844 Oskaloosa was a pioneer village containing only 13 crude cabins and two stores. The town grew rapidly and by 1853, when it was incorporated, had a population of about 1,000. Oskaloosa was named for a Creek princess, Ouscaloosa.

*Iowa Data Center
Iowa League of Cities City Directory